21 February 2013

If video games had Academy Awards -- and as of 2003 BAFTA began giving Games Awards (leave it to the British to be forward-thinking) -- these are some titles I consider worthy of them:

1991:  Civilization
1992:  Sonic the Hedgehog 2
1993:  Myst
1994:  Final Fantasy VI
1995:  Chrono Trigger
1996:  Mario Kart 64
1997:  Final Fantasy VII
1998:  Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
1999:  *
2000:  Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask

*This year sucked in terms of new games.  We were treated to Chrono Cross, a sprawling rococo mess of an RPG that claimed to be a sequel to Chrono Trigger.   As many video gamers were discovering sex this year, it hardly seemed to matter.

No comments: